“NEVER use disposables! It will change your life.”

As you can see from the something like 399 organic cotton products we carry, it’s a huge item in greening your home and business.  I think it’s the passion in her view of her business that makes it so wonderful.   I just have to introduce Julie with two lines from her bio:

“Business Is Personal.” 

I don’t think outside the box, at Fiberactive there is no box.”

Name: Julie Mullin, Alpha

Company: Fiberactive Organics, LLC

What’s your personal definition of greening?

I like to use the phrase “living more lightly on the earth”.   It includes everything from eating lower on the food chain to picking up litter when I go fishing or hiking.  It means not letting the water run while I’m washing my hands and it means never owning a dryer, never buying plates &  napkins or drinking bottled water.

How did you get started in green business?

My father raised our food organically all the time I was growing up. My life and business have always been as green as I could make them.

Why did you choose to supply Greenhome.com?

I wanted to sell my organic cotton linens and I knew Green Home would do a good job of reaching the public.

What do you and your company do in your own life and operations to walk the walk?

Our manufacturing studio is lit with sky lights so we use very little electricity.  I design products to use our scraps and anything that’s not usable goes into our compost for our community garden.  My workers can work at home so we cut down on driving.

What is the best greening advice you can give our customers?

NEVER use disposables!  It will change your life.

What’s your personal favorite of your products that Greenhome.com carries?

Hand dyed dinner napkins.  They’re so soft and absorbent they make every meal luxurious.

What’s been the biggest change in the green sector since you got started?

I’ve been organic for so long, there are a millions things that have changed over the years.  It’s been a very gradual process of educating the public. I guess the biggest recent change is how willing the public is to hear the truth and respond to it.

Do you really think green products make a big difference and why?

I know many products can make a huge difference!  If you consider how many paper towels will be replaced in the lifetime of one set of organic cotton napkins, a family of four will save tons of trees.

Do you think consumers now are aware green products exist, or is there still a lot more education to do? 

Consumers are much better educated now than ever before, but there are still many that haven’t heard and many more that don’t want to hear the truth.

If you could invent a green product that doesn’t exist, what would it be? 

Rather than inventing something new, I have a list of things that I would like to remove from existence:  Plastic wrappers, bottled water, pesticides, etc.

Wow Julie, it’s always good to see business people as passionate about the world as you!

Leave a Reply

